Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
The Community Preservation Act (CPA) was voted on and accepted at our April 28, 2001 town election. The Act adds a 1.5 % surcharge to your real estate tax bill. However, there are exemptions to the surcharge. The first is a $100,000 residential exemption, which exempts the first $100,000 of assessed value from the 1.5% surcharge. This is only on residential property and will be applied automatically before the surcharge is billed. The next 2 exemptions are for low income and elderly families. If a family qualifies for this exemption they will pay no surcharge tax for the CPA. To qualify for this exemption your income must be below certain levels and you must complete an application including a copy of your most recent years tax return. The income qualification is from all sources and you must have income levels below what is shown in the table below. This surcharge will appear on the January tax bill. You must file an application for the exemption by April 1, 2021. Please contact the Hingham Board of Assessors as soon as possible if you qualify for one of these 2 exemptions.
To arrive at "full and fair cash value" for your property, the assessors must know what "willing sellers" and "willing buyers" are doing in the marketplace. The Assessors also must collect, record and analyze a great deal of information about property and market characteristics in order to estimate the fair market value, including keeping current on cost of construction in the area and any changes in zoning, financing and economic conditions which may affect property values. The Assessor uses 3 standardized appraisal approaches to value: market, cost and income. This data is then correlated into a final value. The object of the valuation program is to estimate: reasonable cash value" as of January 1 (known as the "assessment date") prior to the fiscal year. For example, the assessment date for Fiscal Year 2021 is January 1, 2020.
The Assessor is required by Massachusetts Law to list and value all real and personal property. Valuation is subject to ad valorem taxation on an assessment list each year. The "ad valorem" basis for taxation means that all property should be taxed "according to value", which is the definition of ad valorem. Assessed values, in Massachusetts, are based on "full and fair cash value", or 100 % of the fair market value. Assessors are required to submit these values to the State Department or Revenue for certification every 5 years. In the years between certification, assessors must also maintain the values. This is done so that the property taxpayer pays his or her fair share of the cost of local government in proportion to the amount of money the property is worth on a yearly basis rather than every 5 years. The Hingham Assessors Office must appraise and assess approximately 8,000 parcels of real property, 300 billable personal property accounts, 20,000 motor vehicle excise accounts and 1,400 boat excise accounts.
The Assessors Office handles no money and has nothing to do with the total amount of taxes collected. Rather, the responsibility of the Assessors is to apportion the tax burden according to the value of the properties in Town. In this way you pay only your fair share of the taxes.
The tax rate is determined by all the taxing agencies within the Town, and is the basis for the budget needed or demanded by the voters to provide for services, such as schools, roads, law enforcement, etc. Tax rates are simply those rates, or tax dollars per $1,000 of assessed valuation, which will provide funds necessary to pay for those services.
With proposition 2 ½, a minimum 2.5% increase in the Town's total tax levy can be expected each year.
If you were to make improvements to your existing property, for instance: add a garage, add an additional room, the "full and fair cash value" and, therefore, the assessed value would also increase.
When market value increases, the Assessors seek to adjust the assessed values accordingly. In adjusting assessed values the Assessor does not create value. People create value by their transactions in the marketplace. Depending both on the types of shifts in assessed value within the Town and on the actions of the Town's budget producing bodies, this process of keeping assessments in line with the real estate market can result in an increase in taxes.
The non refundable convenience fee when using credit cards is a percentage-based or flat rate fee that varies depending on the card type and the bill you are paying. The convenience fee is automatically calculated based upon the type of credit card used and the dollar amount of the bill being paid and is shown on the payment page before you submit your payment for processing.
There are fees imposed by Invoice Cloud for returned payments, and your bank may charge you a fee based on the bank's fee schedule.
The entrance to Bare Cove Park Drive is off of Fort Hill Street, directly across the street from the West Hingham train station and next to Thomas Auto Body (15 Fort Hill Street). As you follow Bare Cove Park Drive, take your first right and bear left up the hill.
If you want to dispose of your bulky, construction, and demolition waste on the 2nd Saturday of the month, you must obtain a permit ahead of time at the Department of Public Works office Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. Please bring your license and registration of the vehicle you will be using to the Department of Public Works office at that time. You do not need to bring the bulky, construction, and demolition waste with you as it will be inspected at the Transfer Station on Saturday morning. The 2nd Saturday bulky, construction, and demolition waste collection is limited to 25 permits and disposal limited to the hours between 7 a.m. and noon.
To defer tax payments, you must make a direct rollover of your retirement funds to an Individual Retirement Account (IRA) or another type of retirement account with a financial institution. With a direct rollover, no tax is withheld and the entire taxable portion of your refund is transferred. If you have both taxable and nontaxable contributions, you may accept receipt of the nontaxable portion of your refund without tax consequence and the taxable portion may be rolled over.
**Any questions regarding your septic system should be directed to the Hingham Board of Health. Hingham Board of Health
There will be two important changes to your new bill and payment methods:
Payment options include:
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday 8:00 am-4:30 pm
Tuesday 8:00 am-7:00 pm
With www.mysuezwater.com you can enroll in electronic billing and set up automatic payments. You can also update your contact information and register to receive alerts. It is a great and convenient way to manage your account and view your consumption and conservation tips.
You will need your new account number to register via mysuezwater.com.
Customers will be able to pay bills, make appointments and handle any of their customer support needs at this new storefront location starting April 1, 2021
For all customer service inquiries customers should contact the toll-free, 24 hour, self-service number of 1-877-253-6665 or email email@example.com.
Customers will be able to obtain historical information by calling or emailing the Customer Service number at 1-877-253-6665 or firstname.lastname@example.org
To request information regarding a new water service, water main extension, or fire service installation, please contact Russell E. Tierney, Managing Director / Superintendent at 781-804-2304 or email@example.com. Applications will be available on our website by January 2022.
(In effect from April 15, 2021 to October 15, 2021)
0, 2, 4, 6 or 8 (even numbers)
Sunday & Wednesday12:01 am - 10:00 am, or 6:00 pm - Midnight
1, 3, 5, 7 or 9 (odd numbers)
Saturday & Tuesday12:01 am - 10:00 am, or 6:00 pm - Midnight
No address number
Weir River Water System will utilize the Notify alert system to inform customers and we will post information on weirriverwater.com. Please go to www.mysuezwater.com, create or long into your account and update your contact information to ensure that you receive notifications pertaining to your service.
Weir River Water Customer Service at 1-877-253-6665.
Should you need to report any discolored water, main breaks, or have a general water quality concern, please contact Weir River Water Customer Service at 1-877-253-6665.
The Rules and Regulations are located at www.weirriverwater.com.
No, this will continue to operate independently through Aquarion Water Company.