Public Works

The Department of Public Works is responsible for the care and maintenance of public roadways, sidewalks, drainage systems, shade trees, parks, grounds, recreation fields, athletic fields, the town's Recycling and Trash Transfer Facility, and snow and ice control on all public, and certain private roadways. As of October 1, 2001, there are approximately 136 miles of public roads, including unaccepted subdivisions, approximately 20 miles of private roadways, and approximately 10,000 public shade trees in town.

DPW Office Holiday Schedule

The DPW Office will be CLOSED on:
Tuesday January 1, 2019
Monday January 21, 2019
Monday February 18, 2019
Monday April 15, 2019
Monday May 27, 2019
Thursday July 4, 2019
Monday September 2, 2019
Monday October 14, 2019
Monday November 11, 2019
Thursday November 28, 2019
Wednesday December 25, 2019
Guidelines for Snowstorms
The Hingham Department of Public Works is reminding all town residents that there is a sand/salt mixture available at the Transfer Station, Thursday through Sunday from 7 a.m. to 4 p.m.

When snow is forecast, residents are asked to keep all parked vehicles off streets that are plowed by the town to expedite snowplowing and sanding operations. Vehicles obstructing plowing and sanding operations will be towed at the owner's expense. No one other than town employees or contractors hired by the town may shovel, snow-blow, or plow ice or snow onto a public roadway (Town By-Law Article 10, section 6A).

The town is not responsible for damaged mailboxes, driveway aprons, walkways, stone walls, grassed areas, shrubs, trees, fences, planters, barrels, basketball hoops, or any other object within the town layout.

Please call the Department of Public Works if you have any questions, at 781-741-1430.